填充力

Fill Power
填充力是什么,它与填充重量有什么关系?

填充力测量的是每盎司绒在达到其最大蓬松状态时所产生的空间(用立方英寸来量度)。填充力越高,绒团(在羽绒填充里的绒的实际比率)越大。这意味着产品更轻、更蓬松且更保温。绒填料一般在500到800+的尺度,650-750为高质,800以上为最佳。

另一个与绒产品有关的重要细节是填充重量。填充重量是绒的重量,以盎司量度。一般而言,该值越高,产品就越沉。但是,“沉”并不意味着“热”。比如,一床填充重量高但低填充力的被子会让人感到沉,但并不感到保暖。理想的填充重量根据喜好和气候的不同而不同。

在标准纤维有限公司,绒经过洗涤、干燥和分类后,就马上测量其填充力。这代表“原始”填充力,用于所有的标签、广告和营销材料。偶尔进行的后续测量的数值会因终产品的压缩、运输及贮藏而下降。但是,消费者的使用通常会将填充力回复到原始值。

© 2017 Standard Fiber

Fill-Power

Fill Power
What’s fill power and how does it relate to fill weight?

Fill power measures the space (in cubic inches) an ounce of down creates when allowed to reach its maximum loft. The higher the fill power, the larger the down cluster (actual ratio of down in a down and feather fill). This translates to a lighter, fluffier and more insulated product. Down fills are typically rated on a scale from 550 to 800+, with 650 to 750 being high quality and 800 and higher being the best.

Another important detail relevant to down products is fill weight. Fill weight is down’s weight measure in ounces. Typically, the higher the fill weight, the heavier the product. However “heavy” doesn’t necessarily mean “hot”. For example a comforter with a high fill weight and a low fill power will feel heavy without being overly insulating. Ideal fill weights vary according to preference and climate.

At Standard Fiber, fill power is first tested immediately after the down is washed, dried and sorted. This represents the “original” fill power which is used for all labels, advertising and marketing claims. Occasionally subsequent measurements will drop as a result of compression, shipping, and storage of the finished product. However, consumer use can often return fill power to its original value.

© 2017 Standard Fiber