根数

About Thread Count
何为根数?它有什么实际意义?

根数是每平方英寸编织在一起的线的数目。它包括交织在一起的纵线(经)和横线(纬)。多年来,它一直是极为普遍的判断用于床单和床上用品的面料质量的方式。但它却不一定是最重要的因素。纤维质量,纺线规格及精加工都在面料的质量起着重要的作用。

一个常见的误解是根数越高,面料越细腻越松软。实际并不永远如此。虽然600和800根的床套曾经被认为最为理想最为奢华,其实优化后的床单根数在400左右就全然合适。

为什么会这样呢?这完全取决于根数是如何构成的。传统上,基于单股织线的使用,根数等于经纬纱的总数。但是,为了达到更高的根数,厂家开始使用双股织线,而且还在纬纱中嵌入了多根线(投梭)。

在纺织质量术语中,最上乘的面料用单股纺线所做,中间只有一根纬纱。用这种结构所能达到的最大的根数在400–450之间。就更高的根数,比如600或800,必须使用双股纺线及/或多条纬纱。虽然FTC规定对于多股纺线在判断线数时应将每根纺线按单股来计算,但该规定并没有强制执行。

© 2017 Standard Fiber

About Thread Count

About Thread Count
What is thread count and what does it really mean?

Thread count is the number of threads woven together in a square inch. It consists of the vertical threads (the warp) and the horizontal threads (the weft) woven together. For years, it has been an incredibly popular way to determine the quality of fabrics used in sheets and bedding products. However, it may not necessarily be the most important factor. Fiber quality, yarn size, and finishing, all play important roles in the quality of a fabric.

A common misconception has been that the higher the thread count, the finer and softer the fabric. But that is not always the case. While sheet sets with 600 and 800 thread counts were once considered highly desirable and more luxurious, an optimal thread count for bed linens is really right around 400.

How is this so? It all depends on how the thread count is constructed. Traditionally, thread count equaled the total number of warp and weft yarns, based on using a single ply-yarn. However, in an effort achieve higher thread counts, manufacturers started using double-ply yarns as well as inserting multiple yarns (picks) into the weft. 

In weave quality terms, the finest fabrics made with single ply yarns and have just one pick. The highest thread counts that can be achieved using this type of construction are in the 400-450 range. For higher thread counts such as 600 or 800, 2 ply yarns and/or multi-picks must be used. While the FTC has ruled that plied yarns should each only be counted as one thread when determining the thread count, this is not always enforced.

© 2017 Standard Fiber